If today was your Last

What would you do differently if you knew you had the last chance to do so? Imagine today was your last time to prove something, what would you do? What if your effort today at work, school or in your relationship was the last that could prevent the straw that would break the camel’s back, and you were conscious of the fact that you had the last opportunity to prove yourself worthy in these areas, how would you react?

A friend read and shared a quotation with me, he said “if only humans would live each day as if it was the last”.

This quotation was also quoted by Steve Jobs on Forbes.com, Jobs wrote:

‘When I was 17, I read a quote that went something like “if you live each day as if it was your last, some day you most certainly may be right” it made an impression on me, and since then, for the past 33 years, I have looked in the mirror every morning and asked myself: “if today were the last day of my life, would I want to do what I am about to do today?” and when the answer has been “no” for too many days in a  row, I know I need to change something’

If retaining your job depends on what you do or don’t do today, what are the things you would do differently? If your marriage was experiencing some pressure and what you do today will decide if it will continue or not, what would you do differently?

Basically if today was your last day, what things would you start doing? Perhaps you will start loving everyone one with a beautiful smile? Maybe you would give your possessions to the needy or fight a just course for the less privilege. Most of us, including myself would want to leave a good impression on people’s mind, sort of footprint in the sand.

If today was your last, would you want to hurt someone, fornicate or steal from others? Would you want to keep malice, deceive or lie? Whatever does not sound right to you while asking these questions were never meant to be right. Why not pretend like Steve Jobs and ask these questions each day, every step of the way; at work, school, church or gathering; in government, hospital, court or at home.

Personally, if today was my last, I would want to go to heaven, if there was anything that could deny me the pleasure, would settle it all. Would be my best at work, would love everyone, and would care for everyone that comes my way and the list is endless. Instead of waiting till the last day to do this which we can never know, why no start now? I chose to start now, how about you?

In December, please look out for this blog for an all time inspiring shares and stories on the theme : “Make your passion your profession”

A lot of people who have made their passion their profession have climbed the ladder of success and are sitting with kings and queens of this world. Name a successful man who isn’t stealing or dubious and I will show you where his passion lies. Join me on the train this December.

Be inspired, Be more………….

Enter your email address at the end of this post to follow this blog and receive notifications of new inspirational post

@manueladesola

Leave a Reply

